Watching the Struggle:

People tend to say open your eyes and enjoy the view, but more people should open their eyes and see the struggle around them. People in need of help, such as depressed people or homeless people who need help to get them back on their feet are ignored either by fear of that person because they are different or people just straight up ignore them. Us as a community need to open our eyes a little more and understand what these people are going through and what happened to put them in that situation.

We, as people, need to help these people when they are in need of help by asking them questions, such as, “How can I help?”Or, “What caused this?” so we can either directly help the person or give them advice on how to avoid another similar situation from occurring.

In my life I value giving over getting. Giving gives me a long lasting sense of euphoria that never disappoints. Don’t get me wrong, I love getting things from people, but that happiness only lasts for a bit until I FORGET that someone even gave me that thing. With giving, it makes me feel good to know that someone appreciates what I got them and that they’ll think of me every time they see or use the gift.

In the situations I talked about above with homelessness and dealing with depression, giving to these people doesn’t only mean gifts. Sometimes it is just someone they can talk to, someone that they can express their feelings or story to, without getting judged for it.  Being there for the person and opening your eyes and understanding to help the problem is much better than watching the person struggle.

 

Leave a comment